Skip to main content
Jan 23, 2025 5:42 PM UTC
Question

Reconciliation and deleted deposits

I deleted a deposit.

Than I re-deposited it and used the same date of the original deposit

Now when I go to reconcile my bank statement, the beginning balance is incorrect.

Also, the deleted deposits show up on a previous reconciliation discrepancy report.

Also, the deposits are showing in my chart of accounts.

4 replies

FishingForAnswers
Jan 23, 2025 5:53 PM UTC

@Jdxfour  "Also, the deposits are showing in my chart of accounts."

 

Can you clarify what you mean by this line?

JdxfourAuthor
Jan 23, 2025 5:55 PM UTC

Yes, when I choose my bank account in my chart of accounts, I can see the deposits in the account. And they have the check mark next to them.

FishingForAnswers
Jan 23, 2025 6:07 PM UTC

@Jdxfour  "And they have the check mark next to them."

 

Well, I would assume that you're seeing your new deposit; the issue is that any transaction with a checkmark by it is considered to have already been reconciled by the system.

 

I can't be sure with your situation, but when I run into situations where I need to delete things that I have already reconciled, I start by undoing the last reconciliation. You may try that, see if it straightens out the issue, although you'd have to redo the last reconciliation you did.