Skip to main content
Oct 17, 2022 1:49 AM UTC
Question

Sold original business, opened new one. Want to use QBO for the new, but since we have not done taxes for this year for old, we need to still have access to the files.

I signed up with Quickbooks when I had a Cabin rental business. We have sold that and opened another business. We want to use Quickbooks for the new business, however since we have not done taxes for this year for the cabin rental, we need to still have access to the files. We won't need to change anything, just need access.

3 replies

Fiat Lux - ASIA
Oct 17, 2022 1:55 AM UTC

After you cancel your old QBO account, you can still access your account for one year before they delete it. Another option, convert your data to QB Desktop file format. You can purchase a new one-time license for QB Desktop 2021 to open archive files at any time.

Oct 17, 2022 2:00 AM UTC

In QBO you are only allowed one company per subscription. For an additional one, you will have to sign up for a new QBO account. Another option is to use QB Desktop.

Oct 17, 2022 3:20 AM UTC

Good day, mooseheadlakefro. 

 

I agree with Fiat Lux Asia. You'll have read-only access to the account for a year after the cancellation date. After a year, the system will automatically delete your data completely.

 

Check out this link to know what will happen to your data after canceling QuickBooks: Cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription or trial.

 

Feel free to comment below if you need more assistance managing your QuickBooks account. Have a great day ahead.