Skip to main content
Sep 27, 2019 12:05 AM UTC
Question

How do you delete a client

I've added a client which was linked to a subscription on Quickbooks Online Plus.  We then cancel the subscription in order to downgrade the plan to Essentials and re-subscribe.  We want to delete the original client from Quickbooks Online Accountant. How do we do it?

15 replies

KristyS
Sep 27, 2019 12:05 AM UTC

Hello there, Louis.

You can permanently delete a client in QuickBooks Online. Here's how you can do it:

  1. From the Client's list's Name column open the client's name link.
  2. From the Edit client drop-down menu, select Delete permanently.
  3. Select Yes, when the confirmation prompt appears.

Also, you can visit this article to know more on how to change a client’s status in QuickBooks Online Accountant: https://community.intuit.com/articles/1771875.

I'll be around if you have any questions about QuickBooks. Have a good one!

Nov 15, 2019 10:25 PM UTC

My dropdown menu does not have an option to delete...

 

 

MaryLurleenM
Nov 15, 2019 11:01 PM UTC

Good day, bobkardell,

 

Based on the screenshot you've provided, it seems that you're still on the Client menu. Follow these steps to successfully delete the client.

 

  1. On the Client menu page, click the client's name to open their information.
  2. Click the Edit client drop-down, and then select Delete Permanently.
  3. Select Yes to confirm.

If this client was a part of wholesale billing, the option to delete is unavailable. You can inactivate this client instead. Also, deleting a client requires a Master Admin access. 

 

Let me know how it goes. I'll be around if you need more help.